Ingram Law LLC is an experienced law firm that understandings the realities of domestic violence laws in Alabama. If you have been charged with domestic violence, it is crucial that you take those charges seriously. Domestic violence cases are the result of both inflamed emotional disputes between parties that live together and increased temperature outside. There are more domestic violence cases in the summer than any other time of the year.
Ingram Law LLC will work efficiently and expeditiously to resolve your issues. Joseph A. Ingram respects your needs and concerns, never taking them for granted. Ingram Law LLC is available to provide legal representation in for domestic violence charges in the municipal, state, and federal courts of Alabama. It is important to remember that when people hire a lawyer, this typically has the ability to greatly reduce any court costs or fines associated with a case.
Alabama only recognizes certain types of relationships in order for a crime to qualify as domestic violence. These relationships include:
- Current or former spouses
- Parent and child
- Parents of a child in common
- Present or former household members
- Persons who have or had a dating relationship
Alabama then breaks its domestic violence crimes down into three different degrees:
Domestic violence in the first degree: This type of charge is made when you are accused of first degree assault or aggravated stalking against the victim. If convicted, you could serve at least one year in prison without consideration of probation or parole.
Domestic violence in the second degree: This type of charge is made when you are accused of second degree assault, intimidating a witness, stalking, second or third-degree burglary, or first degree criminal mischief against the victim. If convicted, you could serve at least six months in prison without consideration of probation or parole.
Domestic violence in the third degree: This type of charge is made when you are accused of third degree assault, menacing, reckless endangerment, criminal coercion, harassment, criminal surveillance, harassing communications, third degree criminal trespass, second or third degree criminal mischief, or third-degree arson against the victim. If convicted, you could serve at least 30 days without consideration of reduction in time. If you receive a second conviction, you could serve at least 10 days in a city or county jail. Any convictions after that are no longer misdemeanors; they are felonies.
Other domestic violence charges to be on the lookout for include:
Domestic violence by strangulation: This type of charge is made when you are accused of committing assault or menacing by strangulation or suffocation against the victim.
Violation of a protective order: This type of charge is made when you are accused of refusing to obey a protective order (i.e. a restraining order). If convicted, you could serve up to a year in jail and pay a fine of up to $6,000. Further convictions could result in longer stays in jail.
Most of these charges carry court costs and fines if you are convicted. The only way to waive those fines is if you can show the court that you have inadequate funds to pay.
The important thing to remember in any of these cases is that if the case is dismissed, your legal team can then go back and have the case expunged from your criminal record. Having Ingram Law LLC on your side greatly increases the chances of his and other favorable outcomes.
Before you do anything else in your case, and certainly before you go to trial, contact us online or call Ingram Law LLC now at 205-335-2640.
Our Alabama office is located at 3 Office Park Circle Suite 230, Birmingham, AL 35223.